How do I sue a dealer in Virginia?
You can file a complaint with the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board by:
- Completing the Online Request for Consumer Assistance Form.
- Emailing the MVDB at [email protected].
- Calling the MVDB Consumer Assistance Analysts at (804) 367-1100.
- Faxing a written request and supporting documentation to (804) 367-1053.
How long do I have to return a used car in Virginia?
In an “As Is” sale, if you do not get the AS IS statement on the front of your buyer’s order, and do not get the Buyer’s Guide, you have 30 days to cancel the sale. In this case, you may return the car and get back most of the payments you made.
Who regulates car dealerships in Virginia?
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB) was established in 1995 by overwhelming support from the General Assembly and the dealer community as the state agency charged with the regulation and oversight of the new and used car and truck dealer industry.
What happens if you buy a stolen car from a dealership?
If you accidentally purchased the stolen car, then either your vehicle will be seized from you, or you might end up facing legal issues. Your car and money invested in the car are gone. You have to prove to the police about the purchase of a used car genuinely.
How do I file a complaint with the Virginia DMV?
DMV Law Enforcement may be contacted by phone at (804) 367-1678, by email at [email protected], or by submitting a General Complaint (form LE-22). For issues unrelated to Law-Enforcement matters, refer to the agency Contact Information.
Can you return a vehicle after purchase in VA?
IF THE SALE IS CANCELLED, YOU NEED TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WITHIN 24 HOURS OF VERBAL OR WRITTEN NOTICE IN THE SAME CONDITION IT WAS GIVEN TO YOU, EXCEPT FOR NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. ANY DOWN PAYMENT OR TRADE-IN YOU GAVE THE DEALER WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU.
How much does it cost to get a dealers license in VA?
The dealer license cost in Virginia is around $600 for a yearly license, consisting of $350 fee for the Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund. This fee, as well as the surety bond requirement, are needed only for the first three years of licensing, in case you have no claims against you during this period.
How many cars can you sell in VA without a dealers license?
four motor vehicles
Car dealers in Virginia can sell up to four motor vehicles a year without a dealers license. If you plan to sell five or more vehicles, you’ll need to get licensed.
Can I get a dealer license without a dealership Virginia?
Franchise dealer-operators need only take the Franchise Dealer-Operator Exam at the DMVCSC. Use the MVDB-57 Application for Salesperson /Dealer-Operator Test, and check the appropriate exam. Remember, all dealer-operator’s must have a salesperson’s license.
How do you get a dealers license in Virginia without a lot?
How to Get an Auto Dealer’s License With No Storage Lot
- Contact the Zoning Department.
- Contact the Secretary of State’s Office.
- Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Complete the Auto Dealer Application.
- Apply for a Surety Bond.
- Complete a Dealership Training Course.
- Register the Business Name.
- Apply for a Sales Tax Number.